Beauty and the Beast

I have been anxiously awaiting the new Beauty and the Beast movie since the moment I heard Emma Watson would play Belle. The trailers were gorgeous, and the movie did not disappoint. I’m not normally one for writing movie reviews, but how I could I leave this alone? I’ll keep it spoiler-free for those who didn’t go see the first morning showing on the day it came out. 🙂

My favorite thing about the movie is that Disney built off the original cartoon, rather than changing it. There were so many perfect visual, musical, and spoken matches to the original Disney movie that brought me back to that magic that I grew up on. And they left the songs in!! Seriously, what is a Disney movie without the songs? (Awful. That’s what it is. Awful. I watched the new Pete’s Dragon the night before, and it was worse than the original. I didn’t think that was possible, but the songs at least made the original palatable. But I digress.)

But it wasn’t just a scene-for-scene repeat of the cartoon, either. Nearly every character had more back story, and there were three (I think?) original songs, two of which I loved, one of which I wish they had just replaced with “If I Can’t Love Her.” Same idea, but not as striking.

The casting was spot-on. Emma Watson is Belle, so how could that go wrong? I’ll confess, I was disappointed when I heard that Luke Evans was cast as Gaston, because I loved him as Bard the Bowman. But he was the most arrogant, grating, infuriating Gaston, and I spent the whole movie longing to punch him in the face. In other words, perfect. And I’m pretty sure that Emma Thompson is the only actor on earth that I could accept to replace Angela Lansbury as Mrs. Potts.

My three-year-old wants to see it so bad, but I don’t think she’ll get to for a few more years. She can’t make it through the cartoon unless I’m sitting by her, and the first scenes with the Beast and the mob scenes got pretty intense. Nothing graphic, but plenty of scary scenes.

Have you seen it? What did you think?

Leave a Reply

