The impossible goals

If you want to be inspired, encouraged, challenged, and uplifted, go read The Tattooed Missionary. Consistently one of the most incredible blogs I’ve followed. She posted a gem of a goal post a few days ago and included this quote from Jeff Cook:

“If the bar you want to clear in 2017 doesn’t scare you, it’s not high enough. Don’t plan just what you feel you can accomplish; that’s not faith, that’s sight.

Plan on clearing a bar that is impossible unless God enables you.”

I always have vague, cloudy goals floating in the back of my mind, but I very rarely take the time to map out goals and write them down. But this quote hit me like a challenge. What if I were to do away with my malleable clouds of goals and instead write them down, hold myself to them?

The thing with goals is that I’ve spent most of my life deathly afraid of failure. I vividly remember my dad telling me once, “Sometimes it’s a good thing to fail.” And I had nothing to say, because I totally didn’t believe him. I thought he was nuts. Because in my mind, failing was not accomplishing anything.

But the thing is, even when we fail, we can move forward. We can learn. We can try again. Because you’re not beat until you stop getting back up.

I failed a programming assignment hard not long after that conversation with my dad. And guess what? I lived. I even ended up passing the class. I have no idea now what my grade was, other than that it wasn’t an F, but I do remember that I picked myself up and kept going. And I’ve remembered that moment of blinding enlightenment many times over the years as I’ve failed and failed again. But within those failures are miniature successes, and over time, as long as we continue to strive, those little successes add up into big things, and one day we look back and see that we’ve managed to climb that insurmountable mountain.

And so this year I am setting a goal to set goals. And not just to set goals, but to review them regularly. Not to flinch at failure, but to forge on. Who’s with me?

2017 goals:

  • Prepare one manuscript for publication and submit another to agents.
  • Blog regularly–at least once a week.
  • Be positive!
  • Read 100 books. (Failed this goal last year, though I’d have surpassed it if I’d counted the five billion picture books I read.)
  • Create something every day.
  • Keep a daily gratitude journal.

January goals:

  • Finish current rewrite of NOVUS.
  • Get 5-pg critique through WriteOnCon (and not cry).
  • Make progress on the endless book of the endless sands.
  • Create every day.
  • Keep daily gratitude journal.

Your turn! What goals are you shooting for this year?

8 thoughts on “The impossible goals

  1. Thank you so much for your kind words!! And thank you for reading. ❤ I LOVE your goal to create something every day! I also like the idea of creating monthly goals. Maybe I'll do that for February. Good for you for writing down your goals. Setting goals is the first step toward achieving them. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      1. That is always the trick. 😉 I like making lists! Writing in my planner every day “yoga” or every week “blog” so then I get to cross it off. I also like paper chains – ripping a link off every time you complete a mini goal. I also like GoodReads that shows me my progress.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

